November 19, 2020   •   News

On Monday, 7 December at 14:00 CET, FAO and UNEP will be hosting the webinar Nitrogen Challenges in Agri-food systems: Halve Nitrogen Waste by 2030.

This virtual event will focus on the nitrogen challenges and potential technical solutions and policies in agri-food systems and highlight the ongoing efforts to better manage nitrogen. It will provide an opportunity to learn about the multiple roles of nitrogen in agri-food systems and how different stakeholders can help to achieve sustainable nitrogen management.

To read more and register follow click here

November 18, 2020   •   News

Wageningen University & Research (WUR) is recruiting a full professor to lead the Chair group of Cell Biology and Immunology (CBI).

As head of the CBI group, you will lead a vibrant  team of researchers and lecturers. You will support the group’s research ambitions by further strengthening its position in national and international networks, by consolidating established research lines as well as developing new lines of research. You will actively contribute to the excellent reputation and position of WUR in higher education through your active role in their current education programme and in the ongoing development of courses at BSc, MSc and PhD level.

The position will be based in Wageningen

For more information, including how to apply please click here

Applications close 21 December 2020

November 18, 2020   •   News

Indirect nitrous oxide (N2O) emissions from ammonia volatilization, nitrate leaching and run-off were first included in the Australian National Greenhouse Gas Inventory (NGGI) methodology in 2005.

The first implementation assumed that the fraction of synthetic fertiliser N volatilised as ammonia (NH3-N) and nitrogen oxide (NOx-N) (FracGASF) was based on the IPCC default emission factor (EF) of 0.1 Gg N/Gg applied i.e. 10% of all N fertiliser applied was deemed to be lost as ammonia.

This default method also assumed that 100% of this ammonia was then deposited on agricultural land, using the IPCC default emission factor for N2O from N fertiliser of 0.01 (Gg N2O-N/Gg N) i.e. assuming that 1% of this deposited nitrogen was then lost as N2O.

Following two sucesssive national N2O research programs in Australia, where emissions of nitrous oxide from varying soils, climates, agricultural systems and nitrogen inputs were quantified, a series of industry-specific Tier 2 emission factors were published and adopted into the NGGI.

These revised EFs (Gg N2O-N/ Gg N) were: Irrigated pasture 0.004; Irrigated crop 0.0085; Non-irrigated pasture 0.002; Non-irrigated crop 0.002; Sugar cane 0.0199; Cotton 0.0055; Horticulture 0.0085.

The Australian Agriculture Inventory Expert Advisory Panel then discussed the logic of assuming that ammonia emitted and then re-deposited into these systems would have an EF of 0.01, while fertiliser N entering the same soil as ammonia would have the industry-specific EF as listed above.

As the highest ammonia deposition rates are found within a few hundred meters of the emission source, the EFs applied for ammonia deposition were therefore considered to be related to the source of the N.

The NGGI was therefore updated so that the EFs applied for atmospheric deposition are the same as those applied for direct N2O emissions from N fertiliser applied to that system, as listed above.