October 3, 2013   •   News

Belgium joins the Global Research Alliance

The Chair of the Global Research Alliance on Agricultural Greenhouse Gases (The Alliance) welcomes Belgium as the 40th member country.

Uruguay, as Chair of the Alliance, is pleased to announce a major milestone in reaching 40 members. The Alliance is a global science based voluntary initiative that was launched in 2009 with 20 member countries with the aim to help reduce the emissions intensity of agricultural production systems and increase their potential for soil carbon sequestration, and improve their efficiency, productivity, resilience and adaptive capacity, thereby contributing in a sustainable way to overall mitigation efforts, while still helping meet food security objectives.

Scientists from Alliance member countries collaborate to share knowledge and identify innovative research projects that will accelerate the discovery of mitigation solutions. There are three research groups (Croplands, Paddy Rice, Livestock) and two cross cutting groups (Inventories and Measurement, Soil Carbon and Nitrogen Cycling) that enable activities to take place that would not happen without the Alliance.

The Alliance work is supported by a network of partner organisations that facilitate the extension of the research and allows the Alliance members to forge stronger links throughout the global science and producer communities.

The past year has seen increasing Alliance membership as global interest has developed in multi-country funding mechanisms to support the activities of the Alliance and the benefits of regional capability building projects supported by members of the Alliance are being realised.

The 40 member countries participating in the activities of the Global Research Alliance are : Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Honduras, Indonesia, Italy, Ireland, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Nicaragua, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Peru, the Philippines, Republic of Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam.